PMQ

Explosion Prevention | Process

PMQ

Application

Metallurgical industry | Atomization process |

Screening | Mechanical conveyor | Storage silos | Iron powders | Steel powders

The processes of the manufacturing, the processing, the transportation and the storage of metal powders present combustion risks that must be properly managed. Buildings and equipments (elevators, conveyors, silos, dust collectors) are secured to ensure the protection of workers and the factory; fugitive emissions must be controlled to reduce dust and eliminate the risk of a second explosion.

Objectives

  • Diagnosis of explosion safety and regulatory compliance of equipment and existing buildings
  • Indoor explosion protection of selected equipment of the process
  • Proposal of security solutions and procedures to implement
  • Risk management associated with combustible dust

Challenge Resolved

Solutions designed for the installation of factory work and modifications during the annual shutdown (short) and without hot work | Management of explosion risks for equipment located inside buildings | Installation of explosion safety equipment in very congested areas | Compliance with NFPA standards and regulations SST Quebec (ROHS)

Contact us

Professional Services

EXPERTISE | PRELIMINARY ENGINEERING
Risk analysis | Determination of the explosive characteristics in the laboratory (P max, Kst, CME, MIE, LOC, etc.) | Preliminary security solutions including the prevention of ignition sources, the MALT, detection / interception and chemical extinction, inert gas injection ( “inerting”) and flameless venting | Electrical Classification | Management of dust factory (housekeeping, leakage control, dust) | Budget estimates | Action plan

DETAILED ENGINEERING (PLANS & SPECS)
Detailed design of the explosion protections | Plans and specifications | Planning | Management of tender | Technical support (construction and commissioning) | Attestation of Conformity (completion)

PMQ – Sorel-Tracy (Qc)

Sécurisation Explosion | Procédé

PMQ

Application

Industrie métallurgique | Procédé d’atomisation

Tamisage | Convoyage mécanique | Silos d’entreposage | Poudres de fer | Poudres d’acier

Les procédés de fabrication et de traitement ainsi que le transport et l’entreposage des poudres métalliques présentent des risques de combustion qui doivent être adéquatement gérés. Les bâtiments et les équipements (élévateurs, convoyeurs, silos, dépoussiéreurs) sont donc sécurisés afin d’assurer la protection des travailleurs et de l’usine ; les émissions fugitives doivent également être contrôlées afin de réduire l’empoussièrement et ainsi éliminer les risques de seconde déflagration.

Objectifs

  • Diagnostic de la sécurité explosion et de la conformité réglementaire des équipements et des bâtiments existants ;
  • Sécurisation d’équipements (procédés) situés à l’intérieur des bâtiments ;
  • Proposition de solutions de sécurisation et des procédures à mettre en place
  • Gestion des risques associés aux poussières combustibles

Défis relevés

Solutions conçues pour des travaux d’installation pendant l’arrêt annuel (court) et sans travaux à chaud | Gestion des risques d’explosion pour des équipements situés à l’intérieur de bâtiments | Sécurisation dans des secteurs très encombrés | Respect des normes NFPA et de la Réglementation santé et sécurité au travail du Québec (RSST)

Contactez-nous

Services professionnels

EXPERTISE | INGÉNIERIE PRÉLIMINAIRE
Analyse de risques | Détermination des caractéristiques explosives en laboratoire (Pmax, Kst, CME, MIE, LOC, etc.) | Solutions préliminaires de sécurisation incluant notamment la prévention des sources d’inflammation, la MALT, la détection / interception ainsi que l’extinction chimique, l’injection de gaz inerte (« inerting ») et les évents à  éteignoirs de flamme (« flameless venting ») | Classification électrique | Gestion de l’empoussièrement d’usine (entretien ménager, contrôle des fuites, dépoussiérage) | Estimations budgétaires | Plan d’action

INGÉNIERIE DÉTAILLÉE (PLANS & DEVIS)
Conception détaillée de la protection explosion | Plans et devis | Planification | Gestion de l’appel d’offres | Soutien technique (construction et mise en marche) | Attestation de conformité (fin des travaux)